Board Meeting Summary

Meeting Date: Thursday 8th May 2014

Bookmakers’ Committee Results 4th Quarter

The Board received an update from the Bookmakers’ Committee on the 4th quarter of the 52nd Levy Scheme period. The Board noted that bookmakers’ Forms of Declaration were in the process of being returned.

Government Consultations on Levy

The Board noted Government’s intention to issue in early summer a consultation paper on extending the scope of levy collection to betting operators based outside Britain; and to launch later in 2014 a wider consultation on options for reform or replacement of the levy.

British Owners and Breeders Incentive Scheme (BOBIS) 2015

The Board noted draft proposals for the funding of BOBIS in 2015 and the National Hunt Breeders’ Prizes Scheme. The Board will consider these again alongside other prize money expenditure headings later in the year.

2015 Board Meeting Dates

The Board noted the provisional dates for the Board Meetings of the Horserace Betting Levy Board in 2015, which are:
Wednesday 28th January
Wednesday 25th March
Wednesday 13th May
Wednesday 24th June
Wednesday 16th September
Wednesday 21st October
Friday 30th October
Wednesday 11th November
Tuesday 15th December