Register of Members' Interests


HBLB has adopted a Code of Practice designed to ensure a high standard of corporate governance.

In line with Treasury guidelines, Members of the HBLB Board are required to make a declaration of their personal interests relevant to their responsibilities as members of the HBLB.

These interests are listed below.

PAUL LEE, (Chairman) - appointed 1 October 2009 by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport.

  • Board member, Leaf Properties Limited.
  • Chairman Feoffees of Chetham’s School of Music.
  • Chairman Opera North.
  • Fellow of the Duke of Edinburgh’s Award World Fellowship.
  • Deputy Lieutenant of Greater Manchester.
  • Governor, University of Manchester.
  • Part-ownership of racehorses, including participation in syndicates.

LORD RISBY OF HAVERHILL - appointed 1 January 2016 by the Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport.

  • No related interests.

MAGGIE CARVER, Chairman - Racecourse Association Ltd.

  • No related interests.

PHILIP FREEDMAN, Chairman - Horsemen's Group.

  • Member of Thoroughbred Breeders Association.
  • Member of Racehorse Owners Association.
  • Member of the Jockey Club.
  • Chairman of Trustees of British European Breeders Fund.
  • Managing Director Cliveden Stud Ltd.
  • Owner of racehorses and own breeding operation.
  • Non Executive Director Racehorse Trader Ltd.
  • Consultant James Cowper LLP.

NICK RUST, Chief Executive, British Horseracing Authority.

  • Owner and part-owner of racehorses.

MIKE O'KANE, appointed by the Association of British Bookmakers and the Remote Gambling Association.

  • No related interests.
Last Updated: 09 January 2019